I am an elementary education major with a coordinate in writing arts. In addition to this, I am also going for my special education certification. I absolutely hate when people try to tell me that education is an easy major or that teaching isn’t a real job. I’m taking seven classes this semester and six next semester in addition to three or four summer classes that I will be taking all so that I can graduate in five years, not four. Then on top of all that, I have observation hours, lesson plans, and papers to write. I really do enjoy most of my education classes and besides having to wake up early, observation is fun as well but it is definitely not easy. Our classes are preparing us to teach the future of America. There is a lot of pressure in that! I usually find that the people who undermine the education program the most are science or engineering majors. They think that just because they dissect frogs or build cranes that makes their work harder. But who would be there to teach them these things if it was not for the education majors? Who would be there to spark their interests when they are younger? Who would inspire them to do their best and work hard? Wait, what was that? A teacher you say? That’s what I thought. My point exactly 🙂